Cynthia Koehler

Board of Directors
Title: Vice President, Division IV Director
Phone: 415-945-1449
Cynthia Koehler

Cynthia Koehler is an environmental attorney and water policy expert with 30 years of experience working on federal and state water and natural resource issues. She is the co-founder and executive director of WaterNow Alliance, a nonprofit network of local water leaders dedicated to advancing sustainable, equitable and climate resilient water solutions nationwide. She has served on the board since 2005.

In August 2020, she was appointed to serve a two-year term on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Environmental Financial Advisory Board. She was also appointed to US EPA’s Local Government Advisory Committee (2016-18), Governor Brown’s Urban Advisory Group (2018-17), and serves on the Board of the Water Education Foundation and the Advisory Council for the Pacific Institute, among others.

She worked previously as the Legislative Director for California water issues for the Environmental Defense Fund, and was the Legal Director for Save San Francisco Bay Association. She is the recipient of The Bay Institute’s Hero of the Bay Award as well as other commendations for her environmental leadership. She has written and speaks extensively on water, utilities and sustainability issues. Cynthia holds a B.A. from Pomona College and J.D. and Environmental Law Certificate from the University of Oregon School of Law.

Division IV: Includes incorporated Mill Valley and all surrounding unincorporated neighborhoods west of Highway 101, the area east of Highway 101 and north of Tiburon Boulevard and west of Tiburon and south of Corte Madera, Sausalito, Marin City, Muir Woods, north and south slopes of Mt. Tamalpais, watershed land south of Fairfax-Bolinas Road and up to Division III boundary, and Fort Baker, Barry, and Cronkhite and portions of Golden Gate National Recreation Area lands within the district's service area.

Term: December 7, 2018 to December 2, 2022

Committee Assignments: Chair of Finance Committee and Communications Committee. 

Return to Staff Directory