Armando Quintero

Board of Directors
Title: Division II Director
Phone: 415-945-1449

Director Armando Quintero originally joined the MMWD board in 2009. He was re-elected in 2010 and won re-election unopposed in 2012 and 2016.

Director Quintero currently serves on the California Water Commission, having been appointed by Governor Brown in June 2014. The Commission provides a public forum for discussing water issues, advises the California Department of Water Resources, and takes appropriate statutory actions to further the development of policies that support integrated and sustainable water resource management and a healthy environment.

Director Quintero is the executive director of the Sierra Nevada Research Institute at UC Merced. He also supports a new multi-campus UC Water Security and Sustainability Research Initiative designed to build a strategic base of water knowledge to help California and the nation achieve a water-secure future. He previously served as the Institute's director of development from 2008 to 2014.

Director Quintero was an independent environmental educator from 1998 to 2008 and previously spent 20-plus years with the U.S. National Park Service. He served in numerous positions during his park service career including assignments with the Golden Gate National Recreation Area, Point Reyes National Seashore, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National parks, and the John Muir National Historic Site.

Director Quintero lives in San Rafael and has served on the boards of several non-profit organizations in Marin and California. He earned his bachelor’s degree in environmental studies from California State University, Hayward.

Division II: Includes all areas of incorporated San Rafael except Terra Linda and portions of San Rafael around Highway 101 in the Lincoln Avenue and Dominican areas, unincorporated areas of San Rafael contiguous with San Pedro Road, and the unincorporated area of the eastern most portion of North San Pedro Road.

Term: December 2, 2016 to December 4, 2020.

Committee Assignments: Vice Chair of Watershed Committee and Vice Chair of District Operations Committee. 

Return to Staff Directory